PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention Month calls attention to the fact that sexual violence is widespread and impacts women, men and children of all racial, cultural and economic backgrounds in this community; and

WHEREAS, rape, sexual assault, and sexual harassment impacts our community, as shown by statistics indicating that one in five women and one in seventy-one men will be sexually assaulted at some point in their lives; and

WHEREAS, child sexual abuse prevention must be a priority to confront the reality that one in six boys and one in four girls will experience a sexual assault before age 18; and

WHEREAS, we must work together to educate our community about sexual violence prevention and holding perpetrators who commit acts of violence responsible for their actions; and

WHEREAS, Women's Center of East Texas will join other victim service providers, criminal and juvenile justice agencies, health providers and allied professionals in supporting survivors, speaking out against harmful attitudes and actions and generating greater public awareness of the issues surrounding sexual assault; and

WHEREAS, Panola County strongly supports the efforts of national, state, and local partners, and of every citizen to actively engage in public and private efforts, including conversations about what sexual violence is; how to prevent it; how to help survivors connect with services, and how every segment of our society can work together to better address sexual violence.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Commissioners' Court of Panola County, Texas does hereby proclaim the month of April, 2019

SEXUAL ASSAULT AWARENESS MONTH

in Panola County, and joins anti-sexual violence advocates and support service programs in the belief that all community members must be part of the solution to end sexual violence.

Dated this 19th day of March, 2019

Ronnie LaGrone Commissioner, Precinct 1

Craig M. Lawless Commissioner, Precinct 3 (etas

ATTEST: Bobbie Davis, County Clerk

LeeAnn Jones, County Judge

David A. Cole

Commissioner, Precinct 2

Dale LaGrone

Commissioner, Precinct 4